9

Do you want to move or copy files from this zone

When working via remote desktop on the Server machine you may encounter the following error message when trying to move or copy a file. “Do you want to move or copy files from this zone”. This message is part of the Internet Explorer Enhance Security Configuration component. It occurs because you are copying from a network share and even though the share is on the same machine, it’s still a share, and subject to this message. If you really don’t want to use/see it, you can remove it. But, consider that it is there to protect your server to potential attacks that can occur through Web content and application scripts.

Removing:

  1. In Control Panel, open Add or Remove Programs.
  2. In the left-hand pane, press Add/Remove Windows Components.
  3. Clear the Internet Explorer Enhanced Security Configuration box in the Components list.
  4. Press Next.
  5. Press Finish.

To get more information about the Internet Explorer Enhanced Security Configuration feature in Windows Server 2003 (the underlying operating system on WHS) type res://shdoclc.dll/IESechelp.htm in the Internet Explorer address bar and press the Enter keyboard key on the Server machine.

UPDATE: Or, you can also do the following

Open Control Panel -> Internet Options.
Open Security-tab; mark the zone “Local intranet”, press the “Sites” button,
UN-tick “Automatically detect intranet network”,THEN
tick “Include all local (intranet) sites not listed in other zones” and
tick “Include all network paths (UNCs)”.

Share this WHS Article with Others:

| |

Comments (9)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. ben says:

    Any way to disable it for a time peorid or reinable it after we are done deleting files?

  2. Christian says:

    WARNING!!! WHS Backup can corrupt your entire network backup files simultaneously reports WHS end users.

    I am very disappointed that a backup server could actually simultaneously corrupt ALL of the backups for ALL computers on the network in one fell swoop.

    Read more at http://forums.microsoft.com/WindowsHomeServer/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=2471251&SiteID=50

    Question, what’s the point of using WHS for backup then? WHS end users are reporting you got to backup your WHS so your backup network backup PC files can be protected…

    Doesn’t this sound totally a waste of effort and time to double backup what should only require a single backup solution?

    The interesting thing, for this fatal blunder to occur requires no end user input, just wait and it occurs at some time ahead…

    Meaning this backup is a ticking time bomb, just waiting to happen…

    How can this be acceptable to anyone?

  3. Kim says:

    I will use WHS when they get this sorted out…….WHS-SP1 ?

  4. Hi ben,
    No idea i’m afraid. Prehaps using a batch file using the registry values involved?

  5. Hi Christian,
    The problem you discuss seems to be corrected for some users after installing the November (2007) update for WHS. In the unlickely event this does happen it would be the backups that would need backing up again, all the shares would be ok. Microsoft has also added a Delete All button within the console in the latest update to correct this issue.

  6. Hi Kim,
    I personally among many others have had no problems with the OEM version of WHS. But like many version 1 products I am sure problems still exist which will be sorted as the months go by.

  7. Vineet says:

    I have Win XP SP3. So getting the dialog box stating “Do you want to move or copy files from this zone”. Checked Add/Remove Programs>>Windows Components but there was no option for Internet Explorer Enhanced Security Configuration listed there. What should I do now to disable this dialog box from coming?

  8. bshea says:

    @ ysangkok
    Same solution as here? Why are you posting this???!!! Thanks for the waste.

Leave a Reply




If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.